Chris Horner became the oldest rider to win the stage and take the overall lead in a Grand Tour by winning the Vuelta the Espana’s stage three hilltop complete.

The actual American, who is 41 years and 307 days previous, raced clear on the short, razor-sharp climb of Mirador alle de Lobeira.

Horner gets control the race guide through Vincenzo Nibali, who finished three secs adrift alongside the other main contenders for your overall triumph.

“I will try for your overall triumph, ” said Horner after the phase.

The actual RadioShack Leopard rider, who is however to sign to get a team for your 2014 time of year, surpassed the feats of Pino Cerami and also Andrea Noe – Belgian Cerami was forty one years and 95 days when he won the stage at the 1964 Tour de England, while Noe brought the the year of 2007 Giro d’Italia at the age of 37.

“I fully appreciate how important it is to win and also lead a Grand Trip at my age group, the older I get the more I value racing, ” he carried on.

“I be aware that every day I race could be my personal last day on the bike, but I love racing a lot I would like to carry on. “

Horner, who turned professional in 1994 but had never formerly won a Grand Trip stage, attacked in the final kilometre from the 172. 5km competition through Vigo.

Race favourites Alejandro Valverde and also fellow Spaniard Joaquim Rodriguez completed second and third right after leading a chasing number of a dozen riders, which included Nibali and Group Sky’s Rigoberto Uran, within the finish line.

Result of stage 3

1 .
Chris Horner (US / RadioShack) 4: thirty: 18″

2 .
Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar) +3″

Joaquim Rodriguez (Spain / Katusha)

Rigoberto Uran (Colombia / Group Sky)

5. Daniel Matn (Ireland / Garmin)

General standings after three levels

1 . Chris Horner (US / RadioShack) 9: thirty seven: 40″

2 .
Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana) +3″

4. Nicolas Roche (Ireland / Saxo – Tinkoff) +11″

Haimar Zubeldia (Spain / RadioShack) +13″

5. Robert Kiserlovski (Croatia / RadioShack) +23″

six. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar) +24″

Rigoberto Uran (Colombia / Group Sky) +25″