Zdenek Stybar outsprinted world champion Philippe Gilbert of winning stage seven from the Vuelta the Espana by the narrowest associated with margins.

A photo finish was needed to determine the Czech rider got won the 206km race to Mairena del Aljarafe.

The actual peloton was led within the line one 2nd later by simply Robert Wagner with Britain’s Andy Fenn, an Omega Pharma-Quick Action team-mate associated with Stybar, sixth.

Vincenzo Nibali, that won the 2015 Giro d’Italia, retained the overall guide.

The actual Italian also finished in the primary bunch, alongside America’s Bob Horner who remains 2nd, three secs adrift with Ireland’s Nicolas Roche within third, an additional five seconds back.

Team Sky’s Christian Knees highlighted within a three-man breakaway about the flat stage but they were reeled within around 25km leftover and with a theoretically demanding twisting run-in towards the finish, it was no surprise that Stybar and Gilbert bombarded with 10km to go.

The actual pair rode well jointly as they established the lead of several secs and then produced an exciting sprint finish that Stybar took with a couple of millimetres.

Saturday’s stage eight is really a 166km race from Jerez de una Frontera to Estepona and finishes near the top of the category one rise, the col alle de Penas Blancas – the 16km ascent of around one, 000m – that may see a change in the overall rankings.

Result of stage seven

1 . Zdenek Stybar (Czech Republic / Omega Pharma — Quick-Step) 4: fifty-one: 27″

2 .
Philippe Gilbert (Belgium / BMC Racing) SAINT

3. Robert Wagner (Germany / Belkin) +1″

4. Adrien Micro (France / Cofidis)

Juan Antonio Flecha (Spain / Vacansoleil)

Andrew Fenn (Britain / Omega Pharma — Quick-Step)

Overall standings after seven levels

1 . Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana) 27: 29: 35″

2 .
Bob Horner (US / RadioShack) +3″

3. Nicolas Roche (Ireland / Saxo — Tinkoff) +8″

Haimar Zubeldia (Spain / RadioShack) +16″

5. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar) +21″

6. Robert Kiserlovski (Croatia / RadioShack) +26″

Rigoberto Uran (Colombia / Team Sky) +28″