Chris Horner snatched the entire lead within the Vuelta the Espana through Vincenzo Nibali right after Joaquim Rodriguez won the actual 19th stage with a stunning late burst.

Rodriguez finished 11 seconds ahead of Diego Ulissi within the 181km ride through San Vicente de una Barquera to Oviedo.

American Horner came in 5th, six seconds ahead of Nibali, to go three seconds in front of the Italian language overall with only 2 stages still left.

Spain’s Alejandro Valverde published the same time since Horner to remain third.

Spanish rider Rodriguez attacked with only over a km of the mountainous stage left to claim the solo victory.

But the real drama was just behind since 41-year-old Horner pulled away from Giro d’Italia success Nibali over the final meters of the climb to seize a possibly decisive lead within the general classification.

Saturday’s penultimate stage is a 142km program, including three main summits and an excursion of a special-category climb to the Alto disse l’Angliru peak, prior to the traditional finish within Madrid on Weekend.

Result of Stage 19:

one Joaquim Rodriguez (Spain / Katusha) 4 hours, 16 minutes 13 seconds

2 . Diego Ulissi (Italy / Lampre) +11 seconds

4. Daniel Moreno (Spain / Katusha) inch

four. Samuel Sanchez (Spain / Euskaltel) inch

five. Chris Horner (U. S. / RadioShack) +14″

six. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar) inch

8. Michele Scarponi (Italy / Lampre) +16″

eight. Leopold Koenig (Czech Republic / NetApp) +20″

9. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana) inch

10. Nicolas Roche (Ireland / Saxo — Tinkoff) +23″

Overall standings after Stage 19:

one Chris Horner (U. S. / Canada / RadioShack) seventy seven hours, 56 minutes, 5 seconds

2 . Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Astana) +3″

4. Alejandro Valverde (Spain / Movistar) +1: 06″

four. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spain / Katusha) +1: 57″

five. Nicolas Roche (Ireland / Saxo — Tinkoff) +3: 49″

six. Domenico Pozzovivo (Italy / AG2R) +6: 00″

8. Leopold Koenig (Czech Republic / NetApp) +6: 38″

eight. Thibaut Pinot (France / FDJ. fr) +7: 02″

9. Samuel Sanchez (Spain / Euskaltel) +7: 45″

10. Daniel Moreno (Spain / Katusha) +11: 05″