Oct 26

4 national titles won on 1 of Collegiate Mountain Bike Nationals

Beech Hill, N. C. (October 25, 2013) – Four national titles were won on Fri as the 2013 USA Cycling School Mountain Bike National Championships got underway on North Carolina’s Beech Mountain.

The second national tournament of the 2013-2014 collegiate cycling time of year and the final event on UNITED STATES Cycling’s 2013 national championship calendar, the three-day competition got off to a fast (and snowy) begin with the short track cross-country races.

It was 25 degrees when racing got underway this morning, meaning that racers not only had to compete against their collegiate rivalries however they also had to compete against the weather and course conditions.

Division I Men

In the men’s Department I race, University of Colorado senior Sam Morrison was victorious.

“I just got the hole shot, ” he said “And then Chris (Baddick) emerged up on the first climb and type of sat in second and I simply looked back and saw the climb up had a little gap and figured I might as well go for it since Philip was sitting on. ”

Morrison’s teammate, Chris Baddick (University of Colorado-Boulder) followed him within the line for the silver medal whilst Kerry Werner (Lees-McRae College) was third. Joshua Johnson (Marian University) and Stephan Davoust (Fort Lewis College) rounded out there fourth and fifth.

Division I Women

Capping off a successful mountain bicycle season that included a world mug win and sixth-place in the jr women’s race at Mountain Bike Worlds, Kate Courtney (Stanford University) claimed victory in the women’s D1 brief track event.

“It seems amazing. Well, right now it feels a little bit cold. It was a really exciting race, ” the 18-year-old Courtney said after her win. “I had gotten a little bit of a gap and started to settle in and tell myself ‘you can do this. ‘ Then I slid out and had to run one of the hills and got caught, so that was a little bit of a mental challenge because I had to get a gap again which was hard. ”

After Courtney attacked, she created a second gap which she maintained all the way to the finish line, riding in ahead of silver and bronze medalists Lauren Catlin (Fort Lewis College) and Allie Dragoo (Marian University). Linnea Dixson (University of Wyoming) and Emily Shields (Lees-McRae College) completed the race in fourth and fifth.

Division II Males

In Department II, Zachary Valdez helped Brevard University start the weekend out on the suitable foot when he won the men’s short track event. This individual finished ahead of the Mars Hill College duo of Eileen Keith and Timothy Jenkinson while Wesley Lamberson (Union College – KY) and Robert Rimmer (Virginia Intermont) rounded out the podium in fourth and fifth.

“I’m just really proud of the team, ” said Brevard coach Brian Sheedy. “We experienced some adversity when Cypress Gorry, who was cross-country and short monitor cross-country national champ last year, a new training accident about ten times ago. So that was a big strike and then Lewis Gaffney, who was winning the men’s short track, their pedal snapped off and he has been out of the race. Zach saw might went on the attack and put on the big gap. ”

Division II Women

In her final mountain bike season as a collegiate rider, Erica Zaveta (Brevard College) completed on a high note with the win in the Division II women’s brief track race.

“Off the line I missed my pedal and kind of went back two places and then clipped in. I assaulted right at the first climb and just held the lead, ” the new national champion (and reigning DII national cyclo-cross champ) said after crossing the finish line.

Following Zaveta over the finish line had been second- and third-place finishers Alexis Skarda (Colorado Mesa University) and Sarah Hill (Brevard College). Importance Barton (California Lutheran University) and Addyson Albershardt (Mars Hill University) were fourth and fifth.

Downhill Being approved

Other activity on Friday included the down hill qualifying sessions in which 25 as well as 20 women in each Department rode themselves onto the start checklist for Saturday’s finals. Results from down hill qualifying will be posted here.

Next up…

Racing continues at Beech Hill on Saturday with the cross-country and downhill competitions before wrapping up upon Sunday with dual slalom and team relays.

Follow @USACCollegiate and make use of hashtag #CollNats to keep up with the occasion on Twitter.

For more information, visit the event webpage, or click on the links below.


UNITED STATES Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike Nationwide Championships
Beech Mountain, N. C.
October 25-27, 2013

Department I Women’s Short Track Cross-country

1 . Kate Courtney (Stanford University)

2 . Lauren Catlin (Fort Lewis College)

3. Allie Dragoo (Marian University)

4. Linnea Dixson (University of Wyoming)

5. Emily Shields (Lees-McRae College)

Division II Women’s Short Track Cross-country

1 . Erica Zaveta (Brevard College)

2 . Alex Skarda (Colorado Mesa University)

3. Sarah Hill (Brevard College)

4. Importance Barton (California Lutheran University)

5. Addyson Albershardt (Mars Hill University)

Division I Men’s Brief Track Cross-country

1 . Samuel Morrison (University of Colorado-Boulder)

2 . Philip Baddick (University of Colorado-Boulder)

3. Kerry Werner (Lees-McRae College)

4. Joshua Johnson (Marian University)

5. Stephan Davoust (Fort Lewis College

Division II Men’s Short Track Cross-country

one Zachary Valdez (Brevard College)

2 . Michael Keith (Mars Hill University)

a few. Timothy Jenkinson (Mars Hill University)

4. Wesley Lamberson (Union College – KY)

5. Robert Rimmer (Virginia Intermont)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>