Oct 23

Collegiate Mountain Bike Nationals get underway this weekend at Beech Mountain

Beech Mountain, N. C. (October 23, 2013) — This weekend, North Carolina’s Beech Mountain will set the stage for school cyclists to compete in their 2nd national championship event of the 2013-2014 collegiate cycling season – the 2013 USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championships.

The three-day event (Oct. 25-27) will discover men and women in Divisions I plus II race for national game titles in cross-country, short track cross-country, dual slalom, downhill, and team relay competitions. On the final day, individual omnium and team omnium champs will be crowned – making for 24 national championship game titles in all.

Beech Mountain is fresh off of its initial summer of bike operations. As the highest resort in the eastern United states of america, it has a diverse and special trail system that should provide an exciting backdrop for some spirited rivalry.


Racing will kick off on Friday with down hill qualifying and the short track cross-country contests. Saturday will feature the cross-country and downhill competitions. Motion will conclude on Sunday with all the dual slalom and team relay events. Click here for a complete plan.


Fort Lewis College will look to protect its team omnium in Division I while Brevard College will compete as defending champion within Division II.

Within Division I, be on the look-out for all-around women riders Jill Behlen (Boulder, Colo. /University of Wyoming), Linnea Dixson (Steamboat Springs, Colo. /University of Wyoming), and Eva Wilson (Kensington, N. H. /Colorado State University). Additionally , Lauren Catlin (Fairfax, Calif. /Fort Lewis College) and Brittany Clawson (Sandpoint, Idaho/Fort Lewis College) will trip strong as they look to repeat their respective cross-country and downhill wins from 2012. On the men’s part of Division I, keep an eye on Zach Graveson (Pagosa Springs, Colo. /Fort Lewis College) and Garret Lundberg (Fort Lewis College).

Highlighting the beginning lists in Division II will be Alexis Skarda (Boulder, Colo. /Colorado Mesa University), Owen Tulip (North Conway, NH/Western State Colorado University), Wesley Lamberson (Limestone, Tenn. /Union College of Kentucky), and Kara Uhl (Smithville, Texas/Union College of Kentucky).


For more information, including results, schedule, photo gallery, omnium standings and more, please visit the official event webpage.

Follow @USACCollegiate and use hashtag #CollNats to keep up with the event upon Twitter.


If you plan to attend the USA Biking Collegiate Mountain Bike National Competition as a reporter or photographer to get a media outlet, please contact Keri Kahn at kkahn@usacycling. org in order to request credentials.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>